The Palace TECHNICAL SPECS

Nestled in a quiet spot between Santa Maria del Giglio and the Gran Teatro La Fenice, sixteenth century Ca’ Marin within it extraordinary surprises: surviving the various changes in ownership over the years, the eighteenth-century frescoes of The flight of Helen of Troy, Theseus and Ariadne still grace the first floor salon. The four allegorical medallions decorating the corners of the ceiling represent Apollo and the Muses. Also on the main floor, the stately salon facing Rio della Fenice, is adorned with yet another delightful fresco, Virtue crowning Merit, while in the next room the oval ceiling is painted with a flight of putti. The colours are brilliant and bright and each decoration is imbued with the distinct decorative style rooted in the tradition associated with Tiepolo's name.

The rich and chequered history of this palace is not easy to follow - the long list of successions and property transfers makes for an intricate and captivating story. Tradition has it that it was home to the celebrated Countess Isabella Teotochi from Corfu in her early years in Venice. She was married twice, first to Carlo Antonio Marin, and then to Giuseppe Albrizzi…. A very learned woman of letters, witty, beautiful, loved by Vivant Denon (the “creator” of the Louvre museum), and poets Ippolito Pindemonte and Ugo Foscolo, and an intimate friend of Canova, to whom she dedicated the famous biography of his works, Isabella Teotochi was called “the Venetian Madame de Staël”.

The Napoleonic land register and the coat of arms on the wellhead in the inner courtyard (a wave supposedly azure on an argent background) testify that the building belonged to the Marin family, who oversaw the restoration and renovation of the interior decoration starting from 1760.

Download the plan 125.3 KB Download wiring information 177.2 KB